Papers in the Attic

The Study of Ancient Chaldean & Necronomicon Mysticism

A Lamentation to Dingir Ištar

UMMU ISHTARITUM

UMMU ISHTARITUM

Good Day and welcome to Papers in the Attic blog page, a resource for practitioners of ancient Mesopotamian magic, mysticism, and spirituality. Thank you for visiting this page. We are all family here! Please enjoy your stay.

Dear Brothers and Sisters,

Let me present to you a penitential psalm (or lamentation) to DinGir Ishtar, which I found in the work First Steps in Assyrian, by L.W. King, on page 226 and 227.

Here follows the lamentation:

ba-na-at ilani
muš-tak-li-la-at par-si-šu-nu
mu-še-sa-at ur-ki-te
be-lit te-ni-še-e-ti ba-na-at ka-la-me
muš-te-šir-rat gi-mir nab-ni-tu
um-mu Iš-ta-ri-tum
ša id-da-a-ša il man-ma la i-ti-hu-u
be-el-tum šur-bu-tum
ša par-su-sa šu-tu-ru
te-eš-li-tim lu-uk-bi
ša i-li-ša ta-a-bu li-pu-ša-an-ni
be-el-ti
ul-tu u-um si-ih-ri-ku ma-‘-diš šal-pu-ti sa-am-da-ku
a-kal ul a-kul
bi-ki-tum kur-ma-ti
me-e ul aš-ti
dim-tu maš-ti-ti
lib-bi ul ih-di
ka-bit-ti ul im-mi-ir

Here follows the English translation:

O mother of the gods,
who fulfils their commands,
who makes the green herb to spring up,
O lady of mankind who created all things,
who guides the whole of creation.
O mother Ištar,
whose side no god can approach,
O exalted lady,
whose command is mighty!
A prayer will I utter;
that which to her appears good may she do unto me!
O my lady,
from the day when I was young much to misfortune have I been yoked!
Food have I not eaten,
weeping was my nourishment!
Water have I not drunk,
tears were my drink!
My heart never rejoiced,
my mind was never bright!

ZI DINGIR ISHTARITUM KANPA!

Dumu Abzu-a.

Written by Dumu Abzu-a

April 26, 2013 at 8:45 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Again excellent work ! chapeau ! ;) <3

    motherofaurora

    May 5, 2013 at 11:21 pm

  2. Stop it Sister, you make me blush! :)

    Dumu Abzu-a

    May 6, 2013 at 1:44 am


Comments are closed.

